According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

the reports states that the Groveton college effectively discouraged cheating throught the honor code systems and other college should also adope such system. This suggestion is based the evidence that the average number of students who cheats under new system is less than that of the teachers’ supervision, and the number of reported cheating cases under the hornor system is also decreased five years after the implementation. However, these evidences are seriously flawed.

Firstly, the number of reported cases went down might be the reason that students are focusing on their own exams. They would pay more attention to how to do well on the exam and keep their eyes on the paper rather than look around and trying to spot any cheater. Moreover,some exams are moved online due to pandemic. Althought the chance of cheating could went up significantly, there is no way to find out as the environment is more advantageious to the cheater.

Secondly, such new system might be abhored by the students and therefore, they are clandestinly working togther to against it. The students who report others might get bullied and insolated, which discourage individuals from expose the cheather as they don’t want to get abused or deplored by their classmates. Which indicate that the case number decreased after five years of implementation is simply beacasue students were intimidate or reluctant to do so.

Finally, even the system did help reduced the cheater among the students in Groventon, it does not mean it will suits other colleges. For example, the Groventon might be let their students do the exams on paper, while other colleges are already move all the exams online.Which added difficulties to detect any possible cheating, and made the system inapt.

To sum up, less reported cheating cases were not necessary benefit from the honor code system, it could becasues that student are not willing to report or don’t have the time to do so. In order to enhance the statement, the report need to proved evidence like other schools’ exam system or survey that how likley a student would report a cheating cases if they saw one.