Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that laws are useless for dealing with issues in modern life. The writer further reasons that the rules are not capable of alteration of belief in people’s heart and mind. I fundamentally do not concur with the proposition. In what follows I will list my three reasons to cast doubt on the accuracy of this position.

The first reason which should be considered in the systematic pattern that shapes the modern society. It is obvious that modern society defines according to the list of rules and their interaction. In this case, every detail in modern life is also base on the code and cipher. Consequently, the ignorance of this effect of the laws at the modern life is analogs to the overlooking the axiom such as the rotation of the earth around the sun. For example, the traffics of the big cities are controlled by strict traffic rules. Otherwise, the drivers in hurry will kick any obstacles in their path and ignore all signs and lights to achieve their destination. Is it imaginable to having this type of modern lifestyle without any rules?! Of course not.

Another striking reason which gives adherence to my attitude is the role of laws as the benchmark and indicator of the descent from the indecent actions. Indeed, each norm in a society defines based on the statute which is the hallmark of moral from immoral actions. This feature of law defines the pattern for people to follow and face fewer mistakes. Consequently, it halts the appearance of more problems instead of being futile for dealing with. Besides, the person regardless of his moral belief can do any ill-tempered action. Thus, the law defines the barrier to stop these immoralities. A lucid instance of this fact is the law of ban over the owning the gun. Actually, the acerbate behavior between two individuals can end with disaster result such as the shooting each other with a gun. In this scenario, this statute and its prevention over the possessing the gun ceases this bad outcome.

Finally, the reason which the law is not effective to be against the heart and brain is really a shaky clue for supporting the claim. Since the human being during his life experiences the cycles of mutation in both aspects of mental and physical. By the sole consideration of mental enhancement, it occurs according to ideology forming based on the trend rules. Therefore, the individual during his variation gains this ideology. Furthermore, the flexible nature of the people lets him adapt the changes very quickly and easily. Therefore, the effectiveness of the laws over the brains and hearts is an unfounded fact.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons confirm the failure of the claim and its reasons. As the rule is the base of the modern life, the rule prevents the possible problem, and individual faces the mutation and possesses the flexibility for asserting the variation; the laws are effective in the modern society.