Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws and legal system make up the judiciary arm of society. The claim suggests that many problems of the modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the claim and especially the stated reason, and provide another reason as to why I disagree. However, I do concede that there are outliers.

Laws can change what is in the people’s heart or minds as they are strict guidelines for people to follow and laid down punishment for people who go against the law. For instance, if a person has the motive or aim of stealing, the laws governing that particular area may discourage him from engaging in such act. Also, if there is a law that states that if one is caught cheating in exams, the person would automatically fail the exam. This law may discourage a person planning on going to cheat in the exam and the person may rather prepare well for the exam.

Many of the problems of the world today are happening because there are lack of laws that are meant to keep the people at check. If there are laws for each and every act, the problems in the modern society may be resolved. For instance, when the law of equal pay for workers was established, it helped reduce the segregation between whites and black and also between men and women, which has helped in solving a societal problem.

However, there are instances where the legal system may not be sincere and the laid down laws can be easily avoided without any consequence and hence hinder the progress of the society. However, if the legal system is a sincere one, this may not hold water.