Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim suggests that for an action to be morally correct, the amount of good that results from the action should be greater than the bad. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the claim and especially the reason as well as for an additional reason. However, there are instances where this claim does holds water.

First of all, actions should be judged by intentions and not the results of the action. There are instances where an action done with a good intention may not produce desired results and this does not mean the person carrying out the action is morally corrupt. For instance, a person may be working on the road and may see a sharp metal object along the road while walking. The person may decide to throw the sharp object to a nearby bush to prevent it from harming someone. Unfortunately, an hunter may enter the bush and this sharp may harm the hunter. This example shows that even though the outcome of the action was in the long run negative the intention of the person that performed the action was pure and does not mean the person lacks morals.

Secondly, using the results of an action to judge the action is not a good metric of measurement because while carryiong out the action there may be unforseen circumstances which hinders getting desired positive results from the action. For instance, the boss of a company may decide to reward his or her workers with gifts and bonuses. However, when the manager discusses this with the company's accountant, the manager may be told that the company does not have enough resources for gifts and bonuses. This shows that even though the desired outcome was not achieved due to some reasons, the action not producing good results does not mean the action is not morally correct.

Of course, some may argue that for an action to be morally correct, the amount of good from the action should be greater than the bad. For instance, to known if a leader does not lack morals, the leader is judged from the amount of good he or she does for the people. Hence, if the leaders actions produce bad results then the leader is morally corrupt. What if these actions are not willingly done by the leader? What if the leader had good intentions but was pushed to carry out this action by surbodinates?. Hence actions should be judged by intention.