Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The area of science is a very large one that has helped the world to achieve the ‘unthinkable”. From the iPhone 1 to iPhone 13. From edge to 5G and so on. The prompt suggests that government should place few restrictions on scientific research and development. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the author and suggest that there should be few restrictions on scientific research and development for the following two reasons.

First of all, restrictions on scientific research and development would ensure that researchers do not engage in deleterious research or research that can have a negative impact on the society. If there are restrictions on scientific research and development, researchers would be involved in studies that are in line with moral ethics and values. For instance, if there are no restrictions on scientific research and development, scientists can decide to create robots for war which will have a negative impact on the society. Also, scientists can decide to use harmful materials in products that will have negative effect on the body in the long run. Any action or process that does not have a boundary can definitely result to different unforeseen situations. Hence, restrictions are necessary for proper monitoring of scientific processes to ensure they are in line with moral values.

Second, restrictions on scientific research will help research industries know what areas to focus on and this will help in improving research output in the long run. Knowing what areas to focus on, more resources will be directed towards that particular area. For instance, a research group on malaria drugs when given restrictions or boundaries will help give the group a defined area of research and hence improve the quality of research in that area.

Of course, some argue that restrictions on scientific research will limit researchers and their findings. I concede to this argument, however, do we know what the researchers are up to? What if they are making research on destructive products? Those who say that there should not be restrictions do so at their own peril. Any action or process that does not have a boundary can definitely result to different unforeseen situations. Hence, restrictions are necessary for proper monitoring of scientific processes to ensure they are in line with moral values.