The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, it is stated that the town council of Balmer should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental company form 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer seasons to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. This conclusion is based on the idea that limiting the number of rentals will attain a fifty percent annual reduction in moped accidents and population increases during the summer months. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, is Seaville town similar to Balmer Island? Will enforcing similar limits on moped rentals as Seaville town reduce moped accidents? It is possible that the laws applied in Seaville town may not be viable in Balmer Island. Also, the population in Seaville town may be lesser when compared to Balmer Island and so the same rule or law may not work for both places. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what if the roads are the cause of the accidents? Perhaps, Balmer Island has a lot of bad roads in the summer months and this is the main cause of accidents. If the number of rented mopeds per day is reduced and there are still bad roads, the number of accidents that occur may not reduce. If either if these scenarios are true, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to the reliance of several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to limit the number of mopeds rented per day.