Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement calls for suspension of government funding altogether for initiatives in the field of arts at times of difficulty when people are hungry and unemployed on the basis that it is inappropriate and unfair to use public resources when people’s fundamental needs are not met. I tend to disagree with this statement for two major reasons, which will be discussed in the proceeding sections.

First, according to fundamental Economic theories, there will always be some level of poverty and unemployment in any society. In fact, economists define an optimal level of unemployment below which the country would be growing too aggressively, which is consequently coupled with many economic ramifications outside the scope of this essay. Following this logic, if the statement was to be true, there should never be any funding allocated to the arts whatsoever. An analogy to draw upon is the number of people scuffling with chronic diseases such as cancer. If I were to follow the logic of the claim made in the statement, I would find it cruel not to treat cancerous patients first before alleviating unemployment.

Second, it is very shallow of us to conveniently undermine and often ignore the significance of the arts in our societies as they have a pronounced impact in shaping our values and in general our culture. Many philosophers and thought leaders in the area of human sciences have made tremendous contributions in the course of history.

Having said that, I acknowledge some cogency in the opposing worldview. One can agree that there are different levels of urgency associated with different issues in the society. As a result, a pro-rated approach in allocating funds to different areas, which takes into account the severity of the issues is more prudent.

In conclusion, the current narrative disagreed with the claim made in the statement above for two primary reasons as detailed earlier. Although the opposing worldview was found to be valid from a certain angle, it is deemed immaterial to cause a shift in the author’s position.