Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given issue prompt is saying that government should suspend its funding for the development of arts when most of the people of the nation are hungry and unemployed. I mostly agree with the statement. Though artistic development of the people of a country is necessary, it becomes pointless to spend money on arts when the people are struggling to get a job or having difficulties in meeting the basic needs for survival.

There is no doubt that artistic development of the people of a country is very much important. Arts and literature play a vital role in shaping the mentality of the people. It also plays a vital role in expressing the culture of a country to the people of the other countries. But when a significant portion of the people of a country is struggling to manage the basic needs, when a significant number of people of a country live below the poverty line, having difficulties to get a job, facing problems in earning the livelihood, it will be nothing but an fruitless decision to fund for the development of arts. Let us take the example of the African countries. In many of the African countries, people are jobless, hungry for food, suffering in various type of diseases. Moreover, they have no access to proper education. If the government one of those nations spends money on arts - buying valuable artifacts and painting, builds research centers to develop arts, fund various types of organizations which are working to advertise arts and literature, it will not be a wise decision to take. It may further destabilize the condition of the country and make the situation worse than ever.

Moreover, when a country spend her money on arts when there is a large portion of the population struggling for food, the consequences can be very harmful. People who are having a hard time managing a job may protest against the government. Let us take the example of a country named Bangladesh. A few days ago the students of Bangladesh started protesting for safe roads and reformation of the quota system in the government jobs. Students in Dhaka, which is the capital city of Bangladesh, took control of all the major roads of the city, stopping every single public and private transports from using the roads. The whole city was in a standstill condition for more than a week. It hampered the economy of the whole country and the regular life of the people of the city to a great extent. If the protestors who are not getting the basic needs for survival follow the same path as the Bangladeshi students, it would result in a great socio-economic loss for the whole nation. So, the government should think twice before spending its money on arts when people a significant portion of the people are hungry.

However, the given issue prompt has never said that arts cannot flourish without the help of the government funding. Rather there are numerous examples where it has been seen that a great artistic work was created in a time when there was a very depressing situation in the country. Bangladeshi artist Jaynul Abedin is very popular in the Indian sub-continent for one of his paintings during the period when people of Bangladesh were dying in hunger. Moreover, it is not necessary that only the government has to spend on arts of a country. The rich people of a country can fund for the development of arts and literature while the government can spend money on developing the living condition of the people creating opportunities for employment for the unemployed people, supplying foods and managing health care for poor people.

To conclude, though development of arts is necessary for a nation and its culture, meeting the basic needs of the struggling people is a more important necessity. It will be of no use if the government spends money on arts without meeting the basic needs such as food, education, healthcare etc. because when most of the people of a nation are hungry and live below the poverty line, they will not understand the importance of

arts in their life.