Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

There are many debates on the advantages and disadvantages of independence of the young adults from their parents. Some people think that it is more advantageous for young adults to be independent from their parents as soon as possible. On the other hand, some think that it is more important for youngsters to be with their parents as long as possible. I concur with the idea that young adults should be self-dependent as early as possible in their life. I think this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following passage.

To begin with, In this competitive world, the people are dependent on themselves, who can make good decisions on their own and who can create opportunities for themselves without depending on others are more likely to be successful in future. The people who don't depend on others for most of their activities have the confidence to do something worthy on their own. On the other hand, the people who depend on other, chances are more that they will have to face a lot more problems than the self-depend people. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I came to do my engineering in a good engineering school of Bangladesh in the city of Khulna, I had to leave my parents as my hometown, Thakurgaon, was almost 450 kilometers away from my university. After coming to the university, all on a sudden, I realized that there was no one to help me out if I face any problems. So, I had to take my own decisions, had to face my problems alone as I was living in a distant place from my parents' residence. As a result, after doing all the hard work alone in a distant place for four years, I became a self-dependent person. I realized that I no longer depended on my parents or on my elders to take the decisions of my life. Even, I started earning my daily expenses on my own by teaching in a coaching center. On, the other hand, my sister who lives with my parents in my hometown still depends on my parents while she takes any decision. She even depends on my parents for her daily expenses. I strongly believe that I have more capable of taking any new challenge than my sister only because I got independence from my parents at an early age.

Moreover, I think that if someone lives with his family for a long time, the family members often impose their decisions upon him forcefully. This definitely hampers the mental health of a person if the person does not like the decision of his family members. The example of my cousin brother named Asif can illustrate this point clearly. Asif lives with his family in a small town and depends on his family a lot. Asif, from his childhood, always wanted to be an Engineer. But, his family members wanted to see him as a doctor in the future. So, his father admitted him to a medical college after his high school against his will. Asif had nothing to do but act according to the decision of his family. As a result, Asif could not do well in his studies as he did not want to be a doctor. Moreover, I have come to know that Asif has started to take drugs out of frustration. But, as I left home soon after my high school and have done my engineering in a distant place alone, I have taken my own decision of going abroad for securing a higher degree like masters of Ph.D. I am able to take this decision only because of my independence. No one is able to impose their decision on me.

To conclude, I think that being independent from family as early as possible is more advantageous for young adults. By doing this, they will be able to take their own decisions and will be self-dependent which is very important to be successful in life in future.