Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Firstly, It has been assumed that the professors are assigning higher grades in their classes only for getting a better evaluation from their students. But, no evidence is provided to bolster this assumption. The scenario may not be the way the author is thinking. The students of Omega University may become aware of the benefits of good grades and start working hard to achieve it. The professors may use more advanced and effective teaching method for getting a better evaluation and as a result, students may do good in their exams. Another reason can be up-gradation of research facilities and laboratory by the university administration. Without taking into account all these possibilities, we are unable to draw

any definite conclusion about the authenticity of the argument.

Secondly, The author has mentioned that inflated grading is the only reason for the students of OMEGA University for getting lesser success compared to the ALPHA University. The author has not provided any relevant information regarding the research, internship, laboratory, learning facilities of both of the universities. Maybe in ALPHA university, these facilities are better than OMEGA university. Maybe the faculty members of the ALPHA university are more qualified that the faculty members of the OMEGA university. Maybe the learning environment is better in ALPHA university. Without mentioning these key factors, the author can not make a valid comparison between the two mentioned university and can not conclude that inflated grading is the only reason of the lesser success of the students of OMEGA university.

Finally, the criteria of success for both universities are not explicitly defined in the given argument by the author. It can be the case that ALPHA university graduates are getting jobs quickly after graduation. But, the graduates from OMEGA university are getting much better jobs, although slightly late. If the criterion of success is getting a job as early as possible after graduation, then the students of ALPHA university are more successful than the students of OMEGA university. Conversely, if the criterion of success is getting a good job after graduation, then the students of OMEGA university are more successful. So, without mentioning the criteria of success, one can not compare the success rate of the students of the two mentioned universities.

In conclusion, due to the reliance on some unwarranted and unsubstantiated assumptions, the argument is weak. To bolster the argument, the author should provide the necessary evidence. Such evidence may include the following comparison: a study showing the awareness of the students about grades before and after the implementation of evaluation technique, a comparison of professor's teaching method before and after the implementation of evaluation technique, another study describing the comparison of two universities based on laboratory, research, internship, learning environment, counseling opportunities.