Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The given issue prompt is claiming that Government should invest the same amount of money or effort in the arts and the military. Art is necessary for a country or nation to upright its cultural values so that the next generation can adopt the culture and values of their older generation. Moreover, arts of a nation play a big deal in shaping the mindset of the people of a particular nation. On the other hand, the military is one of the crying needs of a nation because the military protects a nation when the nation is attacked by another nation. The stronger the military, the stronger the nation. As the two things are equally necessary for a nation, I think, the government should spend more on the military than the arts depending on the situation. But, there are some cases when spending on arts may have a good impact on the development of a nation.

To begin with, let's take the example of Bangladesh that has got independence after 9 months of war with Pakistan. After getting independence, it is not feasible to spend money on arts. The government needs to invest money on the Military to make the newly independent nation stronger so that no other nation can take the advantage of the vulnerability of the nation. Because the country is not in a condition to give an equal amount of consideration for the military and the arts. Spending on the military is a basic need in this situation.

Moreover, considering the recent world politics where every nation is trying to expand its territorial area, nations all over the country must make their military as stronger as possible. America and Russia are leading the world politics in the modern world because they both have a strong military. Without a strong military, it is impossible to get a good position in the world politics. So, a nation must spend more on its military.

As having a stronger military is a basic need for a nation nowadays, only after having a strong military, the government of a nation can take into account the arts of a nation. As arts define the way of thinking of the people of a nation and it defines the cultural aspects of a nation, spending on arts is also necessary.