Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

In this modern world, the employees of almost every company possess an e-mail which is solely given by the company. The employees communicate with people within and beyond the company using this particular e-mail id mostly for business purposes. The given issue prompt opines that the company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence to reduce the waste of company resources such as time and system capacity. Moreover, it suggests that adopting the given policy will protect the company from lawsuits. I strongly agree with the given statements. I think adopting the given policy will help the company in many ways.

To begin with, let's take into account the time issue first. If the employees of a company use the e-mail id while working in the office for their personal purposes such as - booking movie tickets, ordering goods online, emailing friends and families, chatting with people who are not related to the company in any possible ways etc., then it will be wastage of potential time of working hours. As a result, the efficiency of the employees with respect to time will decrease. Eventually, it will definitely affect the production rate of the whole company. So, if the company adopt the suggested policy, the management will get to know every detail of the e-mail ids of the employees and will be able to take necessary steps to avoid the wastage of time.

Moreover, It might be the case that an unscrupulous employee may leak the business policy and plans of a company to its other competing companies. If the competing companies of the market get to know about the business plans and policies of a particular company, it will more than harmful for the company. Again, if any employee tries to do an unethical transaction using the e-mail id of the company, it may cause great harm to the company. It may hamper the good name of the company and in case of serious offense, it may cause a ban by the government or the law enforcement agencies. So, to prevent these type of problems, the management should monitor the e-mail correspondence of every e-mail id of the employees.

Let's take the example of a company named Enosis Solutions in Bangladesh. The ICT division found that one of the employees of Enosis Solutions was trying to access the database of ICT division using the e-mail id given by the company. Later, the employee was taken to prison and sentenced to imprisonment for two years under the ICT law of Bangladesh. But, later the company had to face a lot of problems. It was shut down by Police and later maintaining a lot of formalities, the company again got the permission to run its business again in Bangladesh. If Enosis Solutions adopted the suggested the given policy in the statement before, it would not have to face any problems.

So, monitoring the e-mail correspondence of the employees will help a company in many ways.