The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

My Response: With the advancement of civilization and economic growth, the lives of people have become more dynamic and rapid than ever before. Everyone is running to achieve their own goal in this modern world. It cannot be denied that there are numerous advantages and good aspects of this rapid style of life but at the same time, it creates a lot of problems. Here, the statement is saying that the increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves. I mostly agree with the statement. I will illustrate my position with the example of transportation, communication, and dieting.

First, with the advent of private cars, people are being able to go from one place to another place within a very short time. It is more comfortable than public transport as well. But, nowadays, the number of private cars is increasing in an uncontrolled way. As a result, car accidents are increasing. Moreover, more cars in the city streets mean more traffic jam in the streets. Let's take the example of a small country named Bangladesh. In Dhaka which is the capital city of Bangladesh, the increasing number of cars has created a huge problem for the people of the city. Traffic jam in Dahaka has become a very concerning issue for the city dwellers. Very often, it takes almost 2-3 hours to drive 5 kilometers from one place to another place. Moreover, people are not using bi-cycles nowadays to adopt the new rapid style of life. So, they are not doing enough physical work and consequently, they are suffering from various type of problems like obesity, high blood pressure etc.

Second, with the advancement of technology, the communication system has gone through a revolutionary change in the last two decades. Nowadays, people are able to communicate with their near and dear ones within a second. Various social sites like facebook, WhatsApp, Google+ etc have facilitated to communicate with the people living in the other portion of the world. People are using e-mail instead of FAX nowadays for various official and unofficial purposes. But, all these things have brought a lot of problems too. A lot of People around the world are being a victim of online bullying and assault. Moreover, security is a big issue in the case of social sites and e-mail. One can lose a huge quantity of important data within a millisecond. A few months ago, Bangladesh Bank has lost a huge amount of money

due to the lack of security in the software of the bank.

Finally, Fast food is another consequence of the rapid pace of life of people. In this modern world, everyone remains busy most of the time. People don't get enough time to cook foods on their own at home. So, various type of fast foods is replacing the homemade foods which people used to eat earlier. As a result, as fast foods are full of calories, people are facing a lot of health problems like obesity, diabetic, high blood pressure, heart attack etc. Moreover, in this rapid and dynamic world, people are so busy that they don't have enough time to spend with friends and family. They don't have time to have dinner together as they did earlier. Even the working women are seeking the help of childcare for their babies. Consequently, people who don't get enough attention from their friends and family, feel lonely and as a result, suffer from various psychological issues.

To conclude, it cannot be denied that the rapid pace of life is providing us with ample opportunities to grow our career and also making our lives comfortable, but the above-mentioned examples prove that at the same time it creates a lot of problems in our life.