Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.
Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
The given issue claims that power in any field like business, education, politics, government should be changed after five
years. The author thinks that revitalization throuth new leadershio can ensure success. I think, the author has generalized
the statement a bit. In case of education and business, it will be wise to go with an experienced leader rather than
a new leader. On the other hand, when it comes to politics and government, changing power in these fields can be beneficial for
the society.
To begin with, in case of business organizations, it takes a long time to produce an adroit leader who can lead the organization
with his prompt actions and decisions. Business organizations normally deal with various stakeholders. It takes times for a person to
gain the faith of stakeholders. So, one become an efficient and responsible leader after a long time working with the ohter people in
the company and the stakeholders So, changing power after a certain period of time will not be a good thing for a business corporation
because it will cost a lot to produce a new leader to replace the old one.
Same goes for education. One might argue that changing leadership in educational case would facilitate to experiment with new ideas that
are generated from the new leaders. But again, to ensure a stable educational system, we should not change leaders frequentl in the educational sector.
Let's take an example of a university. The head of a university has a lots of duties. He has to connect with faculties, students and officials
in the university. He has to connect with people outside the university like scholars from various fields, higher authority of the university and
all. He manages funds for various research projects. All these things he does need years of experience. If the leader of a university is changed
frequently or after a certain period then it will not be easy for that universiy to flourish. So, the university will not be able to afford to change an
experienced leader.
Now coming to the point of politics. In case of politics, I think leadership should be changed after a certain period of time. Now, one may argue that just like
university president and corporate leaders, leaders in politics should be in power for a longer period of time. But, in most political cases, a leader who
remains in power for a relatively longer period of time, becomes a dictator. Then he tries to misuse his power and takes away freedom form the people. So, the risk
of producing a dictator justifies the cost of producing a new leader. So, in this case, the advantages of having a new leader after 5 years outstrips the advantages
of having an old one.
To conclude, the authors' idea of changing leadership after 5 years may be beneficial in some cases. But there are situations where it may not be effective. In case of
business and education, going with an experienced leader may lead us to a prosperous result. On the other hand, in case of government and politics, changing leaders may
be more effective as government and leaders may become dictative if they enjoy power for a longer period of time.