Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the given issue prompt, the author has said about the flexibility of laws. He has stated that laws

should be flexible so that they can take into account various circumstances, time and places. I mostly

agree with the author but there are some cases where laws should not be flexible for the betterment of

the society.

To begin with, let's take the example of homosexuality. In some part of the world, homosexuality is

still a taboo. In Saudi Arabia, homosexuality is treated as a heinous crime whereas in most of the

countries of North America, it has become acceptable with the passage of time. So, laws regarding ho

-mosexuality in Saudi Arabia and north america are not the same. Again, laws regarding were not

the same about two or three decades ago as it is in North America now. So, laws have been changed

with the passage of time considering different circumstances for the betterment of the society. It

would not be possible without making laws flexible enough to be changed for different situations.

Let us consider another scenario where a 6 years old boy has murdered one of his playmates while fighting

over a petty issue. In the eyes of law, the boy has committed a merciless crime and should be awarded

a death penalty. But, here the law framed should be flexible enough to take into account various

circumstances - the age of the boy, the place of the crime, the motive of the crime etc. The law for

the boy can not be the same as the law for an adult. For instance, Sanjoy Dutt (Indian actor) illegally

bought and kept AK-47 for the safety for his family during riots. This is a petty crime and committed

unknowingly and for no mallacious reason. But he was sentenced to five years in jail. This example also under

-scores the importance of the flexibility of laws.

Conversely, not all laws need to be flexible. For example, laws regarding nuclear technology should

not be flexible. A country must abide by some rules and regulations to adopt the nuclear technology.

These rules should be as stringent as possible for all countries of the world and all countries must

abide by the same rules. Because, we have already seen the destructive nature of nuclear bombs that

were dropped by United States on the soil of Japan during World War II. Other international laws such

as World Water Treaty should also be the same for all countries of the world and should not be violated

in any circumstances. In the above mentioned cases, making laws flexible or making laws different for

each country may lead us to another World War.

Moreover, if flexibility of laws permits the government to change laws frequently, it can bring chaos

in a country. Let us take the example of Bangladesh. In Bangladesh, when a new political party becomes

elected to form government, they change the law so that it can serve their political purpose. It has

become a common practice in the country. As a result, people of Bangladesh is facing a lot of problems

adopting the new laws in a shorter time period. This leads to chaos in the country.

In a nutshell, even though it is important for the laws to be flexible enought to take various circumstances

, times, places in account, the factors should be clearly mentioned and should not be compromised in

any case.