Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The given issue has stated that all university students should take history courses no matter what their field of study is. I mostly disagree with the statement. I will explain my position with some examples.

Although history is an important thing to know for all students, I don't think that students have to take history course academically to gather knowledge about the history of their respective majors. This is an era of technology. Nowadays, almost all students have access To the internet and the internet is a medium where one can easily find the history of one's corresponding subject. If he wants to know about the history of physics, does he need to register for a course called "History of Physics"? I don't think so. He can easily search on the internet and can learn about the various popular invention of physics, the life of famous physicist etcetera.

There are some subjects where the students don't need to know much about the history. Computer Science is such a subject. History will not attract much a computer science student because he does not need to know the history of the computer to complete his degree Computers, these days, are comparatively way better and powerful than the computers 50 years ago. The chipset used to build the old-fashioned computer are replaced by modern and efficient chipsets. So, learning about those chipsets will not help much. It is true that to build more powerful computers and more efficient algorithms, the students must know the older ones. But, knowing the 50 years old architecture and algorithms will not help much in this regard as computer science is an ever-changing field of study.

However, in some field of study like sociology, the students must know the history of various society. WIthout knowing the history of the development of various societies, it will be impossible to predict the future societal trends. But, I think, the students don 't need to enroll themselves in history classes to learn the attributes and development of different societies. They can easily learn the history of a particular society by reading related history books or they can search on Wikipedia where they can find a ton of information that can Help them to gather their desired knowledge.

To conclude, it is should not be the case that students be required to enroll themselves in history classes irrespective of their field of study as there are various sources which can help them to gather the knowledge they need to know.