A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given argument prompt is saying that the children who live in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal are facing a lower level of teeth decay than the children living in the suburban areas in the US, though people living in the suburban areas of US visit a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. So, the argument has decided that the regular dental care in US not that much helpful. At first glance, the argument seems plausible but a close scrutiny reveals a number of loopholes in the given argument.

Firstly, there can be many reasons behind the bad health of teeth of the children living in the suburban areas of the United States. The food habit of two areas can make a huge difference here. Children living in the suburban areas may eat a lot of chocolates and ice-creams which are very much harmful for the good health of teeth. But, as chocolates and ice-creams are not that much available in the mountain region of the Himalayan, the children living in that region don't get to eat that many chocolates and ice-creams. So, they don't suffer the same amount of problem as the children of the suburban areas of the United States. Depending on the above circumstances, we can say that the comparison is not valid.

Secondly, the author of the argument has not mentioned anything about the weather in the two mentioned places. Weather can play a pivotal role in this argument. Maybe the weather of the Himalayan is suitable for the good health of teeth. Maybe the weather of the suburban areas of United States is not good for the good health of teeth. So, to make the argument plausible, the author should mention the detail weather condition of the two places.

Thirdly, it is said in the given argument that people in the suburban areas go to dentist 1.25 times per year. But going to the dentist can not be the only solution. People should follow the advice and the rules and regulations of the dentists. If one goes to a dentist 6 times per year and does not follow the advice of the dentist, it will be of no good. It can be the case that the children of the suburban area of US does not follow the advice and rules of the dentists. So, regular dental care cannot be blamed solely for the bad condition of the children of that particular region.

To conclude, as we have seen that the tooth decaying issue may depend on various factors like the environment, the food habit, awareness of people, we cannot solely blame the regular dental care of the suburban area of United States.