Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument prompt is saying that the people of Benton City is following the government nutritional recommendation more closely than they did ten years ago. That is why their food habit has gone through some positive changes. Depending on the changes of food habit, the author of the given argument prompt has predicted that the obesity rate in the city will be decreased soon. At first sight, the argument looked quite cogent. But a close scrutiny of the argument prompt reveals a number of loopholes. There are some unanswered questions that must be answered to make the argument cogent and logical.

Firstly, the author mentioned about government nutritional recommendation. But, here the author have not given any particular information about the recommendations. So, we cannot conclude that the government recommendations are the reason of the change of food habit of the people of the city without explicitly mentioning the recommendations. So, the question "What are the government nutritional recommendation?" must be answered to make the argument meaningful.

Secondly, the author has mentioned two food items named "kiran" and "sulia". Here, he has said that the peple of Benton City is buying kiran more than before as it reduces cholesterol. Again, he has said that the people of the city is avoiding sulia because it is not good for health.But, I think the author has generalized the case unwarrantedly. Maybe people are simply using kiran in their food products because it increases the taste of the food product while they are also eating other food items that are full of cholesterol. Maybe they are avoiding sulia because other food products other than sulia found in the city taste better than sulia. So, the author must answer the question "are the people of the Benton City using only food products that are free of cholesterol and avoiding food product that are harmful for health?" to make the argument a valid one.

Thirdly, the author has mentioned that government nutritional recommendations are the only reason of changing the food habit of the people of the city. But, it may not be the case. Here, in the argument, the difference of the weather of the city is never mentioned. Maybe the weather of the city ten years ago was different from the weather of the city now. Weather can be a big factor in changing the food habit of the people. Moreover, the taste of the people of a country never remains the same. It changes with time. May be the taste of the people of Benton city has been changed with the passage of time because the period of ten years is long enough to bring change in the food habit of the people of a particular place. So, the author must mention all the reason to validate the argument.

To conclude, the information mentioned is the passage is not sufficient to make the argument cogent and valid. Some factors like the reasons of the changes of food habit, the detail information about government nutritional recommendation, list of harmless and harmful food items and the rate of their usage in that particular area, the weather comparison of the city etc must be given importance to make the argument logical.