Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in

private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons

and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Business autonomy instills a sense of freedom and trust in the government. Many big businesses shift their operations offshore, in countries where government intervention is more lenient. Small businesses don’t have the luxury of doing that, they have to adhere to the government polices strictly. Many of the small businesses have to go through a massive bureaucratic hassle to start the business itself, most of them rarely make profit in the first few years due to huge debts, bureaucratic costs and legal costs. I believe that government intervention in small private businesses should be minimal. This will not only encourage more entrepreneurs but also help the businesses enhance their trust in the government

Many big businesses today had humble beginnings in the past, when government intervention was minimal. Companies like Amazon, Google, Uber were all once small startups but today, they are some of the biggest corporations on the planet. Back in the 1990s, when these companies were still in their infancy, government backed them heavily because they saw huge potential in them. Now days, government gives incentives to massive corporations and imposes heavy taxes on small businesses. This should change. Small businesses are like the lungs of the economy, if you don’t nurture them, the economy will stop breathing.

All companies should adhere to the norms set by the government. They shouldn’t exploit the freedom that is granted to them. If any small business is found violating the norms, the government should be prompt in taking action against the respective business. This happens in many countries like China and India where businesses often exploit the labour laws and get away with it.

In conclusion, the government intervention should be minimal in the affairs of the small private businesses but they should make sure that these businesses adhere to the basic norms set by the government. It is the responsibility of the government to ensure that small businesses have the necessary opportunities to burgeon and flourish