Student performance should be the basis of salary for teachers

The youth are the future upon which the nation will progress. They should be nurtured and educated so that they become assets to the nation in the future. This is the reason why most of the countries in the world take education seriously and in many countries, right to education is a fundamental right. The school is often referred as the second home which makes teachers our second parents. Salary in education has been a controversial issue in most of the countries. For the magnitude of their job, they are often paid less. Student performance is one of the parameters by which we can judge a teacher, however, that should not be the sole basis of their pay. Nonetheless, I believe that the teachers who constantly strive for good education must be sufficiently rewarded, monetarily or otherwise.

The performance of a student depends on the teacher and student alike. It is a collective effort by both. A diligent teacher cannot spend all her time on insolent, uncooperative students. She would rather teach the students who have the will and motivation to study. The teacher can try to motivate and inspire kids but some kids are way too obstinate. These kids often bring down their class average and make the teacher look bad. In my opinion, students are at 100% fault in this case. It would be extremely unfair to pay less salary to teachers just because some students failed to perform well.

Paying teachers by the academic performance of students can have many detrimental effects. If such a policy is passed, some teachers will likely use unfair means to increase students’ performance. For instance, a teacher can discuss the test questions in class so that his students do well in the upcoming test and in turn secure a high salary for himself. This is fundamentally wrong and deleterious to the process of gaining quality education. In the long term, students will not be able to do well in their higher studies as a result of their shaky fundamentals. As mentioned in the earlier, youth are the future of the nation and such policies can even jeopardize the future of the nation.

However, some might argue that teachers will be encouraged to teach well if they are paid higher salaries. The counter argument to that is, if the students don't perform well even after industrious efforts of the teacher, the teacher who receives low salary will be demotivated further and that will be eventually be counterproductive to the students. The teachers who teach well need to be rewarded from time to time, I do not disagree with that. However, student performance should not be the basis of their basic salary for the reasons stated above.