Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development is crucial for advancement of human race. As we progress further, we tend to innovate more systems and techniques to make our lives better and convenient. Today, most of the human population lives a comfortable life as opposed to a century ago, courtesy-science and technology. Scientists and researchers should be free to conduct research in the area of their interest with no interference. However, the research should be transparent and must be conducted only at the authorized institutions. The government must ensure that external forces-corporate, religious and so on, do not hamstring the scientific research capabilities of a nation

The society is always resistant to change. Back in the day, when governments used to be comprised of dogmatic monarchs, there was very little freedom for scientific research. Bible was the governing book and anything against the religion was considered a grave mistake. For instance, when Galileo suggested that earth is not in the centre of the universe, the government imprisoned him. Luckily, today most of the countries are liberal and do not oppose scientific research. As modern society became more accommodating, we saw many important scientific and technological innovations.

Today, we cannot imagine our world without cars, phones, internet and other devices that have become a part of our perfunctory life. Without scientific research, they would not exist. When computers were first introduced, they were opposed by a large section of the society. People assumed that their jobs will be replaced by a machine. Some also suggested that government should stop funding research in the area of computer technology. Today, computers provide jobs to numerous people and make our lives more comfortable. Currently, a similar trend is observed with AI and automation technology. If government puts restrictions on research in the field of the Artificial Intelligence and automation technology, we might devoid our self of many great future possibilities.

Some might argue that people can use the technology and research findings for their selfish needs. That is true! Therefore, we need strong governing bodies to overlook the implications of a scientific study. For instance, if a scientist develops a mechanism for cloning a perfect human being, the government must ensure that this technology remains secure from the hands of potential threats to humanity and not discontinue the research itself.

Ironically, many technologies used today were developed for the military applications-cell phone, internet, GPS are just a few of them. It is the way we use these technologies that makes a difference. Scientific research and development must be free, with little intervention from the government and a strong authority to overlook the applications of the study.