Claim: Restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve.

Reason: This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet-related health problems.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim

and the reason on which that claim is based.

This argument claims restaurants displaying nutrional information about the food they serve would aid customers in making healthier meal choices. While it definitely holds some weight, it is not necessarily true as customers have different motivations for deciding meals.

Health conscious individuals - those trying to keep fit, maintain healthy lifestyles, the sick and

those on recommended meal plans, would definitely benefit from the knowledge provided by the nutritional information, without having to go through the hassles of finding out such themselves. These individuals would make more informed choices for health reasons. A hypertensive patient often advised to abstain from peppery and salty meals would can make better choices based on

this kind of information, for subsequent meal purchases. Hence, such an individual can easily filter

out ersatz non-spicy meals and go for the ones with little to zero contents of the proscribed

ingredients. Whereas, someone easily enervated with low blood sugar levels can select meals with

the highest calorie content.

Consequently, restaurants would provide better customer service based on adjusted food services. Since, this new knowledge would aid consumers in making informed and optimal choices based

on personal motivations, the restaurants can easily learn and serve the most popular meals

containing preferred ingredients of consumers. This would save them costs and efforts undertaken

in preparing a wide variety of meals with the hope of meeting the needs of a wide range of

customers.

On the contrary, many consumers are not necessarily motivated by nutritional contents of meals

when deciding what to eat at a restaurant. Usually, their motivations are short-termed and involves

satisfying immediate cravings without minding the health implications of their choices. Moreover,

certain meals known to be healthy to a wide range of people, are not gratifying in taste to others. This is quite common with many vegetarians who believe their meal choices are excellent for a

strong immune system and fitness. Whereas, the non-discrimatory eater can go for tasty meats and

highly sugary contents based on the person's dispositions.

In addition, the increased costs on restaurants associated with displaying nutritional information

for every food item served might lead to decreased profit levels and unethical practices, such as

falsifying nutritional information for certain meals that are less likely to be purchased, or

proliferating costs of meals to make up for declining profit. As a result, the health and/or

purchasing power of consumers might be at stake. Hence, the basis on which this argument was

found might yield unintended consequences.

Finally, displaying nutritional information for meals would certainly be beneficial to the health

conscious individuals and aid restaurants in tailoring their services to the needs of the customers.

However, for the larger populace who might be oblivious or non-chalant about this information,

there might be very little significant impact of this argument and the associated costs of attaching

such information can lead to a decline in profits and yield undesirable outcomes.