The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the application, the developers conclude that the proposed new jazz club in Monroe would be profitable. They come to this conclusion based on the popularity of the music type in Monroe, and the nationwide survey. While the conclusion might prove true, however, in other to assess the credibility of the argument the developers need to provide three additional evidence.

First of all, the author assumed that far distance between Monroe and the closest jazz club is not a major customers put in consideration, that Monroe residents will have no other option than to attend the jazz club in Monroe, however this might not be true. Perhaps Monroe indigenes are rich and can afford to transport themselves to the jazz club outside. It is also possible that that far-distant jazz club play nice music and feature popular jazz musician who entertain their customers in a remarkable way, thereby attracting customers to them. If either of the scenario above proves true, then the authors argument that the new jazz music club in Monroe, C-Note will have a lot of customers because of the distance between Monroe and the neighboring jazz music club is untenable.

Furthermore, the author assumed that same or more number of people who attended the previous summer Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer will be willing to attend this year own. This might not be true. Maybe this year Monroe experienced an economic hardship that will make people unable to meet up with the entrance fee. Also, it could be possible that majority of the jazz music lovers who attended the last summer annual jazz music festival are no longer living in Monroe or nearby town, and cannot travel that far distance to the Monroe for this year annual summer jazz music festival. If either of these cases proves true, then the author’s assertion that this year festival will be lucrative is seriously weakened.

Finally, the author assumed that the result of the nationwide study is scientific and reliable, nevertheless, this might not be true. Perhaps the people that carried out this study used poor system or technology thereby making numerous errors in the study. In addition to that, it could that the people that did the study were given bribe to alter the result in favour of the developers of the new jazz club in Monroe. If any of the above scenario proves true, then the authors argument is strongly hampered.

In conclusion, the author’s prediction that the proposed jazz club will bring a lot of profits may be true. However, as it stands now, the prediction rests on three unjustified assumptions that hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the credibility of his conclusion, he needs to provide three more evidence to strengthen his conclusion.