PROMPT:
The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in
Smithville.
“The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve
the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more police officers, budgeting
more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot
rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the
crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.”
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide
whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the
answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.
Several recommendations have been proposed by the city council of Smithville to improve
visibility of their police force. Some of these include measures aimed at increasing their number
by recruiting new officers, offering incentives for working overtime and encouraging more foot
patrols than vehicular patrols by the police. However, the author automatically assumes these
proposed measures are sufficient to significantly reduce crime rate and improve the safety rating
of the citizens.
Firstly, we cannot certainly predict the impact of an increased police visibility to crime rate as
there is no evidence presented anywhere, positing any relationship between crime rate and police
visibility. If statistics of crime rate in different parts of various cities and mean police presence
were presented, and it shows an inverse relationship between police presence and crime rate, then
the author's claim would be valid. Otherwise, we have no justification to accept the argument that
improved police presence play a major role in reducing crime rate.
Moreover, there is no means of assessing the citizens' measure of safety. Perhaps a survey's results
from a representative sample of the citizens highlighting safety metrics and citing police presence
as an indication of improved safety would have justified the latter part of the conclusion drawn by
author. There is a possibility that the citizens might become agitated by increased police presence,
with fears of an unknown but increased level of crime requiring such additional police presence,
or justified fears of police brutality from past experiences or other cities that might have
experienced such. Who knows if the major safety concerns of the citizens is a potential disease
outbreak or periodic natural disaster analogous with the city?
While patrolling on foot rather than police cars might imply improved police access in localities,
there is no proof such helps to reinforce the notion of increased activity level of the police force.
We would need evidence showing citizens acknowledge foot patrols more than car patrols by the
police. Perhaps the police cars and their loud sirens already strike fear in the heart of potential
criminals and deter them, but with increased preference for foot patrols, such sirens may nip crimes
in the bud, as they would be no forewarning of likely arrests to those who perpetrate illegal
activities.
Finally, the author's claims would have been a bit more veritable if citations were made to a similar
city where such recommended measures have significantly reduced crime rate there. Since we
cannot predict the future with certainty even with carefully constructed arguments and reasoning,
such references to like regions where such have worked would greatly improve the confidence of
this new proposals' success in Smithville.
Consequently, the glaring lack of evidence by the author in positing improved police visibility
would significantly reduce crime rates in the city, makes his argument skeptical and must be taken
with a pinch of salt, until evidence is provided justifying a negative correlation between their
increased presence and crime rate. Furthermore, proof of improved citizens' safety rating being
dependent on reduced crime rate and references to a similar city where such has been implemented
and succeeded, must be provided before forming a more credulous conclusion.