The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, the vice president of Health Naturally concludes that by building one of its stores at Plainville, the company will experience a tremendous profit. He arrived at this conclusion based on the peoples love for living healthy lives and the Plainesville merchant report. Though the authors assertion might prove true, however, the author needs to provide three evidence to bolster the persuasiveness of his argument.

The author tries to predict the future by assuming the past occurrence is recurrent, nevertheless, this might not be true. Perhaps the residents of Plainsville are not rich and cannot afford the goods that are being sold at Health Naturally stores. It is also possible that they will continue buying those health related products at other health stores instead of buying from Health Naturally store. Maybe the goods they do buy at those stores are cheaper and as efficient as the ones the Health Naturally stores are selling. If any of the scenarios above proves true, then the author’s prediction is untenable.

Furthermore, the author assumed that the report of Plainsville merchants that the sales of running shoes and exercise equipment is very demanding in Plainsville is scientific and reliable. This might be false. How many people bought the running shoe and the exercise equipment, 3 or 100, out of how many? Without knowing the number of people at Plainsville that bought those materials we can conclude that their demands in Plainville is high. Moreover, it is possible that those merchants made that assertion to impress the vice president of Health Naturally, in order to get money from him. If any of the cases above occurred, then the author’s argument is seriously hampered.

Finally, the vice president assumed that just because people express the willingness to do something, that they are going to do it. Albeit, this might be wrong. Perhaps Plainsville school children loves exercising, but they are lazy and will not be able do it regularly and effectively for its effect to show. Even if they are willing and would love to exercise themselves regularly, the school bulky workloads and stress might preclude them from participating. If either of the above scenarios is true, then the vice president’s conclusion is strongly weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s assertion that building health related stores in Plainville will provide a very enormous profit for Health Naturally may be true. However, as it stands now, the author’s avouchment rests on three unjustified assumptions that hinders its authenticity. If the author would like to boost the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to provide three additional evidence.