Claim: Schools should begin teaching students a second language as early as possible

Students are most malleable in their rudimentary stages. Introduction to any new skills is the easiest in those times. The prompt claims that schools should begin teaching students a second language as early as possible. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons. However. I do concede that it mostly depends on a student if he is interested in learning asecond laguage or not.

To begin with, learning a second language is important for the students because it gives them a feeling of being a global citizen. Learning second language keeps them acknowledged with the cultures and tastes around the world. For example, if a Bangladeshi student is learning French as a second laguage, he is already in the path of becoming a global person who has tasted the best of both east and west. Furthermore, he has a high potential of becoming a good literature critic as he is grasping both french and bengali literature. Language is the mirror of a culture, a civilisation and an era. Learning more than one language, makes a student ahead of his fellow people.

Secondly, Learning second language plays a significant role in building the students as fast learners. It has been seen in many researches that, students who learn more than one laguage, are likely to leaern other topics rapidly. In comparison with the students, who only learn their native language, the former ones are more smart. As language learning skill is related to learning grammer, tense and phonetics that demad intense memory, memorization skills of these students are also better than those who only learn their native languages. For example, Dr. Muhammed Shahidullah, a famous Bengali scholar, who used to be an expert of 13 languages and at the same time a very artful writer and historian.

However, I do acknowledge that every individual has their own desire and student are not an exception. If a student want to be a good swimmer, he should focus on learning swimming, giving more time on various strokes of this game rather learning a foreign language.

In conclusion, the claim has both sideded valid views. But in most cases, I believe, learning a second language from an early age is beneficial for the student.