Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that students should oblige to take different courses beyond their main courses. He supports his claim with the reason that the benchmark of the truly educated person is his information over the various academic fields. I generally disagree with the claim and its reason. In what follows, I will list my clues of disagreement. Also, I will mention to which extent I agree with it.

The first issue which should be considered is the toughness of the schedule at the university. It does not matter in which program or level you are, the university student has the crowded syllables. In this case, it is crucial to cover the core courses to prepare educated candidates for future jobs. For better understanding lets considered the amount required credits for each educational level. For instance, at the bachelor program in average the required credits is 120, by consideration of average 3 credits for each course, each bachelor student should pass the 40 classes during the 4 years until becomes qualified for getting the bachelor diploma. Handling 10 courses per year is really arduous tasks, why do we make it harder by asking the students to participate in the courses irrelevant to their main field. Or about master and Ph.D. program, although the quantity of asked credits is decreased, the required outcome_ thesis or dissertation_ consumes plethora times and efforts. Consequently, students mainly require a convenient atmosphere to focus on their main course instead of getting stress out over the secondary courses.

Secondly, the author defines the standard of a well-educated person based on the varied field of knowledge that he knows. However, he overlooks the other parameters such as the profound understanding of a subject and practical ability of that person over his educated field. First of all, it should be mentioned that the scientific fields are abysmal, which no one could say he knows all the details of that field. The same issue should be considered from the various outlook until the deep-rooted knowledge is shaped. Secondly, after the education, the experimental experiences over the field of study is crucial for being successful at the career. Why instead of asking the students to participate in some execution courses relating to their major field, ask them to take an unrelating course to waste their times?

However, what I mentioned in the two previous paragraphs should not generalized in all situations. The modern science is an interdisciplinary science, which covers the different scientific fields simultaneously, in this case giving some background about the different fields could be effective for the student during their education and future working period. A lucid example of this cause is my major at my master program which in building science. This field cover architecture, mechanical, civil, and electrical engineering at the same time. Besides, my bachelor degree is in the field of architecture. Actually, during the first year of my education in the graduate program, I had a really harsh hour since I do not have good backgrounds over the other three fields. On the other hand, with the advice of my supervisor, I attended some courses related to fields mechanical, electrical, and civil engineering which ease my path during the second year.

To wrap it up, the requirement of the extra course in the case of their irrelevancy over the main topic is just time and energy waste.