Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Dudley Field Malone, an American attorney and politician, once said, “I have never in my life learned anything from any man who agreed with me”. It is often claimed that individuals who share similar or identical beliefs, values or opinions learn more from one another than from those they disagree with. While it is a tempting thought, it is clear that disagreement and debate can frequently be much more productive in the long term.

The primary argument against the benefits of disagreement is that it inevitably causes stress, antagonism and thus precludes effective learning. However, the aforementioned issues are not determined by the perceived validity or falsity of contrary opinions, but by the character of their advocates. Disagreement, when it occurs between open-minded individuals, encourages the process of critical thinking and enhances an individual’s ability to support their perspective with facts and irrefutable evidence, instead of relying on a loud voice and unfounded enthusiasm.

In fact, the progress of mankind would stagnate if it were not for our ability to debate diametrically opposite ideas and beliefs. Disagreement encourages a search for the right answers, as is often manifested in the fields of science, law, and politics. Galileo, whose disagreement with the Catholic Church on the geocentric model of our solar system nearly cost him his life, is believed to have said, “But the Earth does move” upon recanting his “heresy”. He was eventually vindicated and proven to be right.

What most proponents of “learning from agreement” do not realize is that automatically agreeing with an individual who shares a similar opinion to theirs is an indicator of succumbing to basic human instinct. Our need to conform to group mentality and incessant strive for peer acceptance does not make us right; instead, it makes us complacent, bigoted, ignorant and unwilling to accept the existing diversity of the human race. This in turn has frequently led to violence, dictatorship and unwarranted suppression of dissent by both individuals and political regimes.

All in all, while agreement is often an indicator of harmony within a society, it can also be an implication of ignorance. Disagreement, debate, and sharing opposing opinions is the true propellant behind the advancement of mankind and a genuine sign of our ability to live in harmony.