Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Education, as defined by John Dewey, is the process of learning and acquiring knowledge, skills, beliefs and habits. The role of an educator is to facilitate this learning and knowledge acquisition process through well-structured modules and learning objectives developed through a long consultative process by experts at the education bureau. To achieve this goal, more than the interest of students, an educator must consider the integrity of knowledge and their understanding of what students need to cultivate schematic knowledge of a subject in their minds to prepare them for their next level of education or career.

At the first blush, the claim appears to have considerable merit given the manifold advantages interest based courses would bring to the teaching process. Interest is the best teacher that simulates and motivates students to learn whatever they are studying whether in the elementary, middle or high school or college for that matter. This motivation can help students imbibe the subject with more attention and devotion resulting in a better learning outcome. The variety of interest-based courses would enlighten students and inspire them for greater academic achievements. Moreover, when students are interested, they are likely to participate in the learning process making it more engaging and interactive, much to their own benefits and to the delight of the teachers. Also, there are possibilities that students may actually shed some useful insights that could help an educator provide an even more comprehensive and edifying classroom experience. Despite these rewards, completely using student interest as criterion for designing courses will have negative implications for students’ overall educational development.

The most important premise of this issue is that the motivation itself is not the only goal of education. Rather, it is merely one of the important factors which affect the learning effectiveness. Therefore, if educators face the situation where motivation and learning effectiveness are contrary to each other, they should choose the latter at the expense of the former. Furthermore, in some students interest is an evanescent psychological impulse that doesn’t last forever. They may feel enthusiastic about theoretical physics after watching the movie ‘Young Einstein’. But after they start to learn the subject and find it hard, their enthusiasm dies down. Such temporary interest is not enough to always make students motivated throughout the course. Teachers can, instead, help students acquire interest by offering them appropriate incentives for progress, highlighting the importance of the subject in their life and career and employing novel pedagogy such as open book exams, field trips and projects, audio/visual aids, etc.

Many a times, lack of interest doesn’t necessarily translate to a waste of time. Students may be unaware of what will be applicable in the future. For instance, a student yawning during the module ‘Econ 101’, but who still studies the subject for the exam and does well, might find himself or herself using some ‘Econ 101’ knowledge later in life when he or she goes into investing. Letting students influence the Econ 101 curriculum could very well lead them to focus on something very trivial, say sports gambling, and miss out on a more fundamental lesson – a lesson the educator knows will be of greatest use to the students. Similarly, arts and humanities students would want ‘boring’ and somnolent lectures be replaced with novel stories; students pursuing natural sciences would see ‘mad science’ experiments more appealing than physics equations and chemical reaction mechanisms and so on. The overall result would be the stream of unskilled and laymen economists, artists, scientists, economists, etc. unable to contribute to the society, thus undermining the very objective of education.

In conclusion, meeting the level of education is more important for educators than students’ interest while designing the curriculum. Interest can rather be inculcated in students trough proper incentives, novel pedagogical techniques, and awareness about the value of the studied courses in their life or career. A more pragmatic approach would be to allow students to select the courses that interest them rather than designing courses based on their interests.