College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

One of the most important decisions in any student's life is choosing major of study in college; the reason is that studying a good major can determine the overall quality of future life. While it is a highly important decision, it is not an easy one. Everybody can define the term "good major" differently from others.

Some say that, the only criteria for selecting a major is the job opportunity available for that, others, on the other hand, believe that one should consider other criteria such as interest and it is not appropriate to choose this important decision only based on one reason. My view is closer to the latter and in the following lines; I will elaborate on this perspective.

First, the assumption of the statement is that when students select their major based on only job opportunity, after graduation, they easily find a job. Consequently, they don't waste time to search abundantly for job, and can earn money as soon as possible. They soon become independent and all of these mentioned reason lead them to have a satisfactory life. However, who can say that job opportunity is always the same? Job opportunity is changing constantly; it is highly dependent on political situation, advent of new technology and so forth. For example, in my county, Iran, for a long time engineering majors were highly demanded for job. As a result, most of students were trying hard to be accepted in engineering majors while medicine majors were unoccupied because doctors and medicine related jobs had more than job candidate form what was necessary. However, now, there are many graduates in engineer fields who are facing with dearth of job opportunity. Mostly, engineering students, after four years of hard studying, have to compromise with a job with minimum salary or even work in a field that is completely unrelated to their field of study. As you can see, job opportunity is not necessarily constant and can change drastically during the time, so that while it is an important criteria it is not reliable.

Second, choosing a major without any passion about it can lead to a boring life, even if the student find a job. if students follow what they love and select their major based on their real interest, they participate into college classes with enough determination. Moreover, they engage in classes subject and build a firm relationship with their professors and other students; they become graduate with good marks and can find job through their networks or even they can create job for themselves. A quick look at successful people lives, such as athletic, actors or scientist shows that following interest magically lead people to success. For example, Maryam Mirzakhani, a mathematical scientist from my country, studied math in college, while everyone knew there would not any special job for pure math majors. However, she carried on her education and she got a precious math prize in her 30th and become one of the most honorable people in my country. On the other hand, one who opt a major just based on availability of job has no motivation to study hard, classes are not interesting for him and even if he get a job after graduation because he doesn't have any interest, the life would be dull for him and can not do his best to get promotion and become successful.

In sum, it is apparent that getting a job is a turning point in anyone life and one of the most important step, which can highly determine student's future career, is their major in the college. However, student should not see their major a one-dimensional decision and choose that only based on the job opportunity. They should consider their interest and passion and believe that their passion lead them to a good job no matter what exactly statistics and media show about job market.