College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Determining social level and the future occupation, choosing major of study is undeniably one of the most significant decisions in anybody's life. Some people hold the view that students should select their area of study based on an availability of job in that field. While this view has its own merit, I believe one of the most important criteria in choosing a major of study should be students’ interest. In the following lines, I will elaborate more on my perspective.

To begin, it is apparent that when people love something they have internal motivation to do their best. If students choose their area of study based on their interest, they enjoy every second of studying, class participating, completing projects and so forth. They become engaged in different classes and would likely to make a strong network with classmates and professors. Therefore after graduation, they have a strong resume, know many people in their field, know any job opportunity and they are likely to find a proper job. On the other hand, if students select their major solely based on job availability and not their interest, they, mostly, do not have enough motivation to study and get remarkable scores. Thus, after graduation, even if there are many job opportunities, in most cases they do not have the remarkable resume to be selected as a job candidate. Moreover, even if they get a job, they do not enjoy their time and it is less likely to make any progress.

Additionally, one important issue is that job availability has not been fixed ever. For example, in my country, there were many job opportunities in engineering majors between approximately 1990-2010. Most of the students regardless of their real interest would select mathematics in high-school and engineering majors in university. There was a fierce competition among students to be accepted in one of the best universities. However, after some years number of graduated engineering students exceed the number of jobs and also their wage decreased considerably. At the moment, there are many graduate students in the field of engineering are jobless. As a result, students cannot rely on current job availability, since many others do and this would result in a change in supply and demand for a job, which causes inequity.

In sum, based on above discussion, although finding a good job is an important issue in student’s life, they should not base their choice of major only on this criteria, since they have to go on without internal motivation and as a result they cannot do their best and their chances to get a job would decrease. Moreover, all students know about popular trend of job availability and this makes a shift in supply and demand in the job market, which causes lower wages and lack of job for many graduated people. So students should definitely follow their kind heart and not their cruel and lying mind!