College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

In our current society, de to adverse economic conditions, college students may study to obtain a practical job. However, I believe that students should consider their talents over the availability of jobs when opting for a field of study.

Granted, in a handful of cases, college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs. With the adverse economic circumstances, students should be concerned with obtaining jobs after they graduate. The field of medicine has may job openings because people’s health is always a top priority. Thus, when students matriculate into college, it would reap benefits for them to select such practical courses that lead to jobs that are readily available. In this way, when they go through great lengths to excel in their major courses, their endeavors would not be wasted. Thus, students should place weight on the accessibility of jobs.

However, in a majority of cases, such as science, it would yield a plethora of benefits for students to consider their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. In the compelling case of Albert Einstein, he climbed the ladder of success because his talents outweighed the availability of jobs when determining his course of study. Einstein’s father desired his son to pursue electrical engineering because a wide array of jobs related to such a field of study would be readily accessible. However, Einstein was not interested, so he failed in these subjects despite its practicality. Later, by following his passion and interest, he majored in physics and mathematics and obtained high grades. Thus, it should be imperative for students to take into consideration their talents when opting for a field of study.

Moreover, as seen in the field of politics, it is indispensable that students place emphasis on subjects that interest them. For example, Winston Churchill’s family and surroundings encouraged him to focus on fields of study that would lead to safe jobs. However, from his youth, he gained an appreciation for the military parades that would pass by his home. In spite of the wishes of others for him to excel in practical fields, he excelled in history and English and decided to pursue militarism. By embarking on a quest towards his military career, he eventually became a prominent politician. If he had decided to choose his major based on the availability of jobs, he would not have been interested. Therefore, the availability of jobs pales in comparison with one’s talents when choosing a field of study.

In summary, college students should place emphasis on their interests when opting for a field of study. Thus, students should go the extra mile to pursue their talents.