College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Contrary to the view expressed in the statement, I disagree with that college students should choose a field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field.

Firstly, most of students are undergoing self-exploration in their lifetime in college stage. The mechanism, self-exploration, enables students to look into themselves and reflect their thought in deep mind to the world with passionate. However, studying fields related to popular job availability do not always stands for the field in which students are really interested which results in the lack of passionate thus to undermine their performance efficiency. Take LaLa who is one of the top singers in Asia as example, once she decided to study in nursing field while in college, as nursing is popular job field in Taiwan. As time goes by, she realized that singing is actually her intrinsic talent and she should insist on purchasing her dream as being a singer. By working hard passionately to achieve the goal, we can see that she successes and becomes pretty famous in Asia.

Secondly, as time is changing rapidly and, whatever the job is popular today can be reversed tomorrow. If students choose what to study merely based on the availability and popularity of the related field, it may turn out that students will find out their professional knowledge fields do not match the job availability at that timing. Take Teaching job in Taiwan for instance, being teacher was one of the dream occupation with nice payroll and social reputation about five year ago. However, as Taiwanese new born are less and less these years, it also becomes harder to get a position in school as a teacher because less new born implies fewer schools are needed.

Some people may concern that there is potential possibility that students can earn more in the future if they choose to study in the field which has more job availability. Nevertheless, when more people are competing with you in order to get that job position, the less chance you will get it. For instance, engineering is perhaps the most popular among study field in Taiwan, more and more graduates are competing with each other for getting a job in the technology industry. With the sever competition, it leads to that Taiwanese technology companies only employ those who have high level educational background. Some technology companies even only employ graduates from the top three universities in Taiwan.

For the reasons above, it is reasonable to believe that college students should not choose what field to study based on the job availability in that field.