Colleges and universities should require all faculties to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

It seems to me that to require all faculty members to spend time in working outside the universities in profession which are related to their teaching courses would be a bad idea for three reasons. First of all, many faculty members would not be able to find the suitable job outside the university. Secondly, there would be an increase in the attrition rate of the faculty members. Lastly, there is no need for having such policy for certain fields where there is a close contact with the professional world.

To begin with, not all the faculty members would able to find the appropriate jobs, especially when they are available for a relatively limited period of time. Consider professors of Philosophy and Literature for example. While expertises in such fields are important in teaching and conducting research, their results are not immediately useful in the corporate world. Even if the faculty member find suitable jobs off campus, it would be very difficult to effectively implement the policy.

Another negative consequence of implementing such policy is that it would risk the talented faculty of the universities by providing them the opportunity to work at highly paid companies. For example, technological companies such as Google and Facebook are always in the hunt for talented employees who have skills in high performance computing, data mining and machine learning. By putting forth such policy, the universities are giving clear paths for the elite professors to go for such Multi National Companies, who would offer them better compensation packages than that the academic jobs does. This way, there are quite chances that highly talented faculty members would leave the academic job and move with the company. Hence, implementing this policy of requiring faculty members to work outside academic world would fail drastically.

Some people may argue that in certain fields like law and medicine, it is important for the researcher to stay in close contact with the professional world. Working experience outside the university would help them gain more insight about the fields and make them better teacher and researchers. In such cases, the policy of requiring faculty members to work outside academy would be unnecessary. Professors who are concerned with the professional development would be interested in seeking job opportunities without such policy. Hence, there is no requirement for such policy to be introduced.

To sum up, many professors, researchers or any other faculty members may not be able to find the suitable jobs. Talented professors of the universities would be jeopardized if they are offer higher pay scale in MNC. While, even without such policy, faculty members of certain fields are always on a lookout for other job opportunities. Therefore, implementing the policy of requiring faculty members to work off campus would be a bad idea.