The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that building a Jazz music club in Monroe would result in tremendously profitable enterprise in the city. The author makes several assumption which concludes that people in Monroe would have the Jazz club all to themselves, thousands of people would attend the Monroe’s annual Jazz festival like the last summer, also he states the fact of the playing the Jazz music everyday on radio would increase its customers. Finally the author also provides the nationwide study of having the Jazz fan spending 1000 dollars per year on the Jazz entertainment. This argument distorts the view of the current situations by manipulating the facts and providing weak evidences.

First, the author mentions about the distance of the nearest Jazz club which is 65 miles away, and assumes that the C- Note Jazz club would have all the local market to itself. But would this apply if there builds up another music genre club in the town? Is there any guarantee that people would visit the Jazz club even when there appears new disco, country club or hip hop club? Definitely not. Chances are people would skip the jazz and prefer to some different music genre. As new music is keeps up innovating, people would want to explore new beats and tunes happening in the music industry, instead of going to old school Jazz club.

Secondly, the author states about the popularity of Jazz music in Monroe. Based on the fact that 100,000 people attended the Monroe’s annual Jazz festival last summer, the author assumes that Jazz is popular in Monroe, and would spend more again if there happen to be another Jazz festival. It is clear that author provides no clear evidence that people would spend again on the tickets for the Jazz festival. For example, Last summer, people would have attended the Jazz festival because, as many of them have their summer vacations, and there might be no other festival going on during that time. As a result of this people would have opted to attend the jazz festival. The author also fails to provide the success rate of the previous Jazz festival. Was the last festival successful? Were the people satisfied with the performances, what were their reviews; are they going to attend again? Lack of information of these questions raises scepticism on the author’s assumptions.

Furthermore, the author mentions the fact of having several jazz musicians as residents of Monroe city. How does this indicate that these musicians would work if the club was built in the city? What is the age of these Jazz musicians? Are they willing to work? We don’t know if their living in the city would help the reason for the jazz club establishment. There are chances that the Jazz musicians might be at senile age, and retired from their profession and simply living their life peacefully.

Lastly, the author states about the everyday playing of ‘Jazz Nightly’, a high rated radio program. The author assumes as this program is played every night, people in Monroe loves Jazz. Further, he fails to provides any relevant information about any other program playing on radio, or was it the only program playing on radio? Because if it, then of course this ’Jazz Nightly’ is termed as high-rated on radio. Furthermore, the author provides the nationwide study which says that a typical jazz fan spends close to 1000 dollars on jazz entertainment. The first question arises here is that when was this study taken? Because it may be true that a jazz fan would spend such monetary, but it would have happened only in the 60’s and 70’s. There were no other sources to get the music without spending penny. The days now have changes; people can have music for free online, listen to it whenever and wherever just by plugging in the earphones to their smart phones.

In conclusion, it is observed that author's example is based on prediction rather than actual evaluation. He fails to provide any other crucial measure that people would spend the same amount on Jazz entertainment of the C-note, jazz Club was established in Monroe city, hence the argument is unpersuasive as it stands.