Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Research plays a vital part in the competitive world of ours. We cannot undergo any development without serious research work being conducted. People who pursue research are regarded with high prestige and are considered equivalent to God for they gift the society with mind boggling findings and inventions. Research works requires lot of patience and diligent efforts in order to achieve success. In today’s world people just want to make money fast in shortest period of time by doing cosy job or having a business. In such scenario, it is highly contentious to limit the research work to areas that have immediate practical application. A stand can be taken on this issue only after a careful analysis.

Firstly, the ultimate aim of research is to firmly establish a new concept. It seems so that the concept is useless unless they apply to some manner fulfilling the needs of the society. On the contrary, all fruits of the scientists which we enjoy today were not highly regarded during those scientists’s period. For instance, we cannot imagine traveling to other country without the help of aeroplanes. But in the olden days, people used to travel to different part of the world by ships or by walks with periodic rest. We now realize that Wright brothers have gone a long way in inventing aeroplanes for making our journeys easier and enjoyable. The applications of the discovered results of a research is analyzed on-the-go and not as and when they are produced. Therefore, even if the research result does not result in immediate practical application, they may sometime in future turn out to be the most important discoveries. Newton’s theory of gravitation and Einstein’s theory of relativity seemed to be of trivial importance back then when they were put forth before the society. On the other hand, today, most of the concepts in physics could not establish their results without considering the implication of these theories. Research done in any field will always have utility. But it might not be relevant in the initial stages after research work is being completed.

Secondly, the time and effort required by the research work is tremendous, to the extent of not justifying the compulsion of any practical application. Huge amount of money is also spent by governments of countries like United States of America in order to make their nation forefront in the area of research. Unlike other projects, a research project’s consequences cannot be determined beforehand. For instance, installations of nuclear power plant in order to compensate the electricity shortage might be a good move. The scientists and civil engineers may undergo an extensive research about the targeted place in order to effectively design the nuclear power plant. But there exists a possibility of any untoward incidents happening in case of leakage in the nuclear power plant. The damage that it would cause cannot be estimated and pre-cautionary measures can be taken only to assuage the severity of the purported damages. Therefore, uncertainty in research works should not prevent one from carrying them out. Risks are meant to be taken in most cases to come out with flying colors in the field of research. For example, ‘Artificial Intelligence’ in the field of computer science was touted to be the active research field in the 1990’s. After a decade, the research works became dull in this area due to the fear of failure. But, now this field has again gain momentum and countries are competing to bring out a perfect humanoid robot. Therefore, considering the complexity of research work, too much thinking must not happen prior to start a research.

Everyone today wants to do their activities in a jiffy. Subsequently, they look forward to exciting gadgets and applications to make their life easier. However, there exists another part of the society beyond the common people. The teachers, doctors, engineers, etc, also require help in their profession. Hence, research works should be evenly carried out across all the fields. Some might be of the opinion that a research work is not worth pursuing, if it does not cater to the uses of majority of the people. However, all the professions are interlinked. For instance, if a serious disease rocks the world tomorrow, the medical research have to come up with a promising treatment or medication; otherwise the disease will make a huge impact and affect people in all walks of life. Same is the case with computers which are operated by almost all professions. As a result, all fields are interlinked and necessary to ensure healthy and comfortable survival of the humanity.

Thus, I completed agree with the claim that researchers should not restrict themselves to areas with potential applications. As quoted in the reason, the output of research works cannot be determined with accuracy. Hence research works are to be carried out by the individuals out of their own interest. Researchers ought to devote their time in finding new concepts and leaving applications or the part of it to the society. For example, Ramanujan’s mathematical derivations were not much of use in his days. But today, they are highly regarded and researchers are still working on his theorems to make new implications. Research works take a humongous amount of time and sincere efforts to establish something worthwhile and research in all fields are necessary to ensure a better living.