The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

How a nation would be defined as a ‘great’ nation? Is this definition termed on the basis of the number of achievements of the artists, scientists or a leader? Or is it defined by the conventional manner of living of its citizens? It is evident that a nation cannot be termed as great nation if there is a diffuse of disconcert among the people and has sultry of problems related to the people’s life, no matter how many successful artists, leader or scientists the country produces. Therefore, it is for sure that the people’s well being is a crucial indicator for the greatness of a nation.

A country marches towards progress with the support contributed by the nation’s citizens. And for that the well being of the people is necessary. A country suffering from poverty, illiteracy, unemployment, drought, famine, etc would result in failure for providing the helping hand for the overall nation’s development. Take for an example; if a major region of a country is facing poverty, the affected people would rather resort in unscrupulous means to make money. Unemployed people would have no other option than to getting lured by the criminal options in order to have monetary gains. Corruption would result is attenuating the government system instead of supporting the welfare of the population. Living in such country would no longer be safe for the citizens or also to the tourists visiting the country. The nation may boast several scientists, artists or ruler, but would their achievements help in improving the country’s image in the eye of the world? The answer to this would be a definite no. People judge greatness of a nation by the living condition and safety for everybody. Greatness of few people makes little or no contribution to the greatness of the nation.

In the world of science and technology, breakthrough made by the scientists of a nation cannot do much for the well being of the people unless the technology is made of use for improving the living conditions of the citizens of the nations. For example, if a team of scientists of a developing country makes a path breaking discovery in the field of generation of power, the nation would make sufficient progress only if the technology is applied for the power generation within the nation. Furthermore, if the country’s authorities fail to provide the required funds for further research, or if the team moves out to any developed country, then there would be no way the scientist’s achievement be able to contribute towards the progress of the nation.

In conclusion, it is prominent of say that, a nation is determined by its people. If the people are looked after well by their leaders and their welfare is taken into consideration whenever major political decision is been made, then it is evident that the nation will progress in the path which leads to greatness. This is because the well being of nation is directly proportional to its people’s welfare that constitutes the nation. The greatness of a nation cannot be determined by handful of people who have gained popularity and fame because of their achievements in the fields on science and technology or politics.