The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author mentions about the double increased commuting time due to the traffic on Blue highway. He/she mentions that adding up a bicycle lane would help reduce the rush hour traffic rather than fostering an increase. It may seem logical at first glance, but this argument fails to mention many key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

The author mentions in the given article that Commuters complaining about the heavy traffic occurring on the Blue highway between the suburbs and the city center. As mentioned this is observed during the rush hours and is resulting into doubling of the commuting time. Although the author fails to mention the major factors that could have caused the doubling of commuting time. However, rush-hour is usually the time when office or school time is over. The leaving employees or the school buses may cause the traffic. It is quite possible that, except the rush-hour, there is an easy flow of traffic or no traffic problem at all. Here we need more detailed information regarding when exactly the heavy traffic is observed. Another possibility of the traffic could be that new construction project might have started on the highway, or any new restaurants by the side way, or there might be new transportation route started as same way of traffic direction. We need to know the reasons for the traffic before the decision makers accept or reject the argument.

Secondly, as mentioned by the author the worsening of the Green Highway is nothing but a mere generalized comparison done with Blue Highway. The worsening of Green Highway could have any possibility, like if there are schools, or hospitals around, the additional lane would definitely not serve a helping hand in that area. The author fails to provide the necessary information regarding the locality, the building, the public appearance, etc. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have significant amount of additional evidence. The argument could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid.

Finally the author mentions about a suggestion of adding a bicycle lane to Blue highway. This is merely based on the assumption that many area residents are keen bicyclists. In this regards, we need to have more detailed information on how many residents are actually keen bicyclists, what are the age group of the keen bicyclists, how many people are comfortable riding to their workplace/ university, how many people can cope up with the cycling on daily basis, and so on. The author fails to give a solid proof on the number of residents who are actually interested in having a bicycle lane. Moreover, the author also readily assumes that adding up bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycle to commute, and thereby reducing the rush-hour traffic.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of the locality around the highway and people’s thought of having a bicycle lane on the Blue Highway. Whatever the author has presented is potentially a good idea, but we still don’t have any evidence or enough information to conclude that this is the best way to go.