Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Learning is a process of acquiring knowledge as well as understanding the reasons behind certain facts and methods. In order to completely understand any phenomenon, one must think on it and validate the understanding. The author presents an agreeable statement, in order to thoroughly assimilate the knowledge; one must bear the habit of skepticism by raising questions and doubts while in the process of learning. However, there comes down a condition on the level of education process one is going through; which will be elucidated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, learning begins as soon as human starts to grow. Take for an example, a non school going kid, is asked not to touch the fire, the kid would probably cast a doubt on why so; which is necessary because he should understand hazard of getting a burn. Further, a school going kid who is learning mathematics addition should understand the logic behind the numbers and addition. The one who asks the teacher on why 2 plus 2 gives us 4 and why not 5; answering this query by providing elucidation using various numbers would help the kid imbibe the concept of addition and would easily solve it anytime. Whereas, if any student who simply mugs up the information, without asking questions and getting his doubts clear, would end up having a knowledge with a hole. Hence, any student who is in the process of learning must get his understanding clear by putting forth the doubts to their respective educators.

Having doubts is a sign of pondering on why certain thing works in a known way. Raising questions is often a sign of intelligence and crave for learning more. Although, as students passes out school and enter the wide pool of knowledge in the universities, the learning gets widen and there could be enormous questions which probably, not every professor could be available to assist the students. In such situations, asking questions should not be hampered but rather find alternate ways to hunt the answers. In the modern world of internet and easy availability of wisdom, finding answers and elucidation of any given methods or concepts are only at the reach of our fingertips. Hence, students must have doubts and pursue answers in order to have full proof knowledge of certain subject. Getting the answers of the questions not only helps the students to better understand the subject, but also enhances their chances of relating the rhetorical concepts in the practical world efficiently.

Furthermore, let’s not forget the facts of the earlier scientists and inventors. Previously there were no given set of rules or regulations to formulate, neither was there any teacher to ask the doubts to. But this never stopped the human kind to make progress and uncover the reality of falsified facts. Let’s take for an example of Galileo, what if he never doubted on then blindly accepted fact of our planet Earth being flat? Probably we would not have learned that Earth is round rather being flat. Galileo’s skepticism helped human race to uncover the ultimate truth of our solar system. Hence, raising a doubt, finding its answer, getting the better in dept understanding ensures the full proof learning; may it be asking questions in the classroom, or a student working on finding answers in the University Library.

In conclusion, skepticism is sign of intelligence, which raises doubts and questions. While in the process learning, may it be at school/college or when working on any research, it is necessary to have doubts and queries rather than accepting it passively.