It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Having a good friend is really a special kind of blessing. A good friend usually becomes our best friend in the long run of life. I believe that in order to build a strong friendship, old friends should be preserved. I have this opinion because of the following reasons which I will explain in the next few passages.

First of all, when I think of friendship, I see the main important characteristic of loyalty. A true friendship has this essential factor, which takes a big time to develop. When we become friends with someone, we inculcate feelings, respect towards each other. We even become protective and have each other’s back from time to time. For example, I remember during my undergraduate days, I made my first friend from college, and till now, even after 7 years we are really good friend. We share many secrets, many stories, even studied for our exams together, our families knows about how good our friendship is. Having an old friend, gives a person whom you can call your own, and eventually can become just like your family member. As they say, a best friend is nothing but sister/ brother from another mother.

Secondly, an old friend is always honest to you. A good friend will always give out better and honest suggestion, whether you like it or not. For example, when I had my first break up, my friend suggested the person whom with I broke up was not good for me. I listened to her advice and never got back to him. Later after days, I came to know that the guy was really just a play boy. Whereas, I had one another friend, who was new that time, she suggested me to go for him as he was using that new friend as a mediocre to reach me. If ever I had listened to my new friend I would have got hurt again. With this experience, I can conclude that not every new friend is good for you. You would never know how the new person would make a benefit from you, or may even envy you.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that keeping up old friends is way far better and safer than making and trusting new friends. This is because, in any relationship, building the trust, loyalty, honesty and love takes years of connection, and this is found in our old friends.