Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Despite the industrialization of modern society, arts and other related activities plays a vital role in our society by providing entertainment and education. While it is agreed that government funding is necessary for the arts field to flourish, the concern that the government could compromise the integrity of the arts and the artists, is a valid one. In such case, a proposal of requiring the government to arrange an individual and independent committee which would handle the arts sponsorship funding, as an antidote to the threatening of the integrity of the arts.

As a threshold matter, the financial funding from any big corporation or government is mandatory for any art form to reach to the public. Unlike Hollywood movies, which are financially supported by big organization through various advertising, most of the local art works are deprived of the monetary sponsorship which would help them attract audience attention. In such case, the government should step in and provide the necessary support to the artists and provide them the well deserving opportunity to deliver their art works to the audience. In addition, art and creative artworks requires infrastructure such as art museum or art schools that can offer space and training programs to exhibit the work and cultivate artistic talents. Without the support from large corporations, it is the government’s duty to allocate funding and required infrastructure so that people can visit or send their children to get trained in artistic fields. With more members of public interested in such museums and art schools, the art, artistic works and activities can then flourish.

On the other hand, it is understandable to worry that the funding from government can threaten the integrity of the art and artists. It is well known these days that arts are socially constructed artifacts and do not exist in political vacuum. Any artwork can and must contain political meaning and messages that can challenge the ruling authority elites. Meanwhile, government always has the incentive to sponsor the arts that may help advance their own political agenda. For instance, in Mao’s China, all the songs and movies were related to the theme of revolutionary propaganda of the then communist party. For the Chinese artists those days, there was virtually no freedom or integrity of art. Hence, there must be freedom for the artists to express their own voices and opinions in front of public which in turn can raise their voice.

Given the tension between the government’s necessity to provide funding to the art on one hand and the threatening of the art and artist’s integrity on the other hand, it is wise to have an independent community which can distribute the government’s funding in a politically neutral way. Such committee should be run by group of artists selected by the peers and receive the government money on regular interval. But it must have a condition that the government must not involve in any kind of activity or have any influence over this committee’s running and regulation. There is in fact such committee called Hong Kong Arts Development Council in China which runs under this same model. Following this model, the Chinese artists enjoy their freedom and integrity is safe guarded in their art works.

In conclusion, given the profound impact of arts on the general public, the government must provide funding to the art and also must create an independent committee which would handle the sponsorship of government funding in a politically neutral way, without any influence of the government itself.