Learning about the past has no value for those living in the present.

What is Learning? It is fundamentally a concept of acquiring a thorough knowledge of the facts and principles of the subject. How can someone acquire a thorough knowledge? Well, some of it is available to us found by predecessors or some we may need to explore it further. Hence, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with the given statement that Learning about the past has no value.

Learning is getting to know the ways of doing things the right way. Nobody is perfect as no one can do the things correctly in his/ her first attempt. Learning from the past would give us the suggestions and the advises on how to make things work. Let’s take a basic example of igniting a fire using stones. If a unconcerned person is asked to do so, he would be confused. But if someone, who has read about how the Stone Age man used to kindle the fire, he can create the fire with few minutes. Hence, when it comes to basic survival, people has tried many different ways during the course of the humankind, and learning about the past ways would definitely be at help in the present as well as in the future.

Secondly, Learning from the past could be time and effort saving when it come to making progress. Past knowledge and the past results of the ongoing theory or research is always of great help when people are currently working on it. For example, consider the telephones evolution. When telephonic conversation was invented, there were wired connection. Eventually scientists and researchers applied various features to the wired connection networks, and we are now able to connect with our friend or loved ones with wireless connection, like mobile phones, video calling which is nothing but the internet. All these inventions we are using today could not have been possible without the knowledge of the past related in this field.

To sum, knowing about the past methods, past discovered facts and the lessons learnt can immensely be helpful while living in the present or preparing for the future. Also, implementing the previous ways of working things out has the possibility to figure out the mistakes and help improve the results.