Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant number of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

The author makes a controversial statement in the terms of Arts field. The statement of suspending the government funding for arts would be extreme and would result in stagnation of art and new artists. Art is an integral part of any society and culture. Art represents the essence through its historical evolution of the place and so the country. And therefore, it is necessary for the nation to keep funding some amount to maintain the evidence and help emerging the local art. It is true that when significant amount of people are hungry and unemployed directing all the resources to their welfare make more sense. But the country suffering from circumstances should find a middle ground solution and maintain a good balance in fulfilling the citizen’s needs and appreciating the home-grown talent is of equal importance.

To begin with, the need of the citizen is of the utmost importance for any nation especially when there is a dearth of food and basic living amenities like job and shelter. But it is not viable for any nation to allocate all the expenses aimed only to alleviate these problems. Instead, the government should keep in mind various different aspects for a good country balance. Government should distribute the national funds equally to ensure the good reputation of national security, sports, education, law enforcement, global recognization and of course the art. These are only the few among the complete list. Growth is significant when there is a scope for development.

Moreover, Art can also prove to be a significant source of income. Many Roman, Greek and Chinese cities still attract many international tourists who like to be mesmerized by the historical art incorporated in ancient building and stored in museums. Whereas, countries like in Middle Eastern nations, only the welfare of the citizen of any country does not warrant the recognization at the global level. Because of their natural resources these country citizens live in affluent condition but are not idealized by any other country. On the other hand, countries like Germany, Greece, China and United States, who dexterously manages to keep balance in wealth and art, are widely idealized by other continents.

Furthermore, the combination that provides and guarantees that, as long as possible, people’s needs are considered first and then an impartial funding being provided to the development of skills in the field of art sounds way more solid as compared to the provided statement. However, certain extreme circumstances like famine, war and natural disasters are an exception. Countries facing such difficult situations can consider temporarily denying funds for any cause that might seem prodigal in such situations.

Conclusively, it is good to have a whole sum amount of resources allocated to upbringing the talent residing in any country.