College and university should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

It is a well known fact that ‘One cannot make progress without stepping out of the comfort zone’. The author states that colleges should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. But is this truly necessary to mandate to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country? Some may agree while some would befuddle, as this condition majorly depends on the personal perspective of the student.

The world has different countries, with completely different culture, traditions, methods and techniques. If someone gets the opportunity to experience a different world, other than what he has seen since birth, it would definitely help change his thinking and the working methods. Student who chooses to spend a semester in foreign country would benefit in numerous terms. One would get to witness and learn different languages, cultures, even the eating habits, and of course the life style. Apart from getting to know different cultures, staying away from home helps in developing cooperation skills. A student has been living in the comfort zone of the society, and they depend on it in more ways than they realise. This sudden change in surrounding and the need to be completely independent teaches various aspects of life, the importance of people and how they affect our life. Take been an example, a competitive student from USA, who recently got exchanged with an Asian student, will have to adjust his communication skills, gestures and also the attitude towards the community as well.

Moreover, stepping out of the education system that one has been acquiesced since childhood helps him to recognise the fallacies in these systems. Thinking horizons widens and learning methods get broaden. Take for an example, the education system in India is lull and trite than the education in United Stated. In India, research work, even at Universities, is of far less importance than it is in United Stated, due to which the Indian students have inured with their traditional system of questions and answers based evaluation.

Furthermore, different countries have different level of advancement in their curriculum. Japan and China may be teaching far latest programs as compared to India and United States. Students exposed to such advancement bring home unorthodox knowledge with them.

Conversely, students who are pursuing localized programs, studying language or local culture would say that the need to visit any foreign country for almost half a year will only waste their money and precious time. This is correct, not all students are always interested in leaving their home, for several reasons. They might not be able to bear the expenses, cope up with the climate change, or the foreign food may not suit them. If one is determined to only serve his country, than overseas experience is of least importance.

Conclusively, a global experience helps in many ways, but nothing should ever be forced in systems of education. Imposing restrictions only hinders the ability to acquire knowledge. It should be made clear to the students that why a visit abroad is of utmost importance and then should be given the choice to do so. It should be the student’s decision to go overseas or to stay on their home land.