colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The main purpose of colleges and universities is to provide quality education to their students. However, it is also the responsibility of teachers to make students competent for future jobs and for that teachers must have worked in their respective field. Because, without working in professions relevant to the courses they teach, they will be unable to prepare their students for industry in a efficient way. Thus, I agree with the suggestion that the colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The twenty-first century is the century of advancement in science and technology. As a consequent industries have slowly started adapting new technology and methods in their companies to improve production and ultimately increase the profit. However, In countries like India, college and universities still teach their students a decade old curriculum. As a result when students will enter into their respective field after their graduation, they will have to face various problems such as difficulty in getting jobs in their field. Thus, majority of students may end up doing work which is outside their relevant field. If colleges and university require all faculty to work in their relevant field then they can get most updated knowledge and may give proper direction to their students.

Another benefit faculties may get by working outside the academic world in their relevant field is they get practical knowledge of subjects they teach to their students. And practical knowledge help teachers to make their teaching style based on empirical evidences and practicals. Thus, their students will also have practical knowledge regarding courses they study in colleges and universities. Practical knowledge of teachers help them to increase the curiosity of their students.

On the one hand,there are courses that require their teachers to be constantly updated such as computer science. On the other hand, there are certain courses which do not require faculties to be regularly updated with time such as history, mathematics, linguistic, sociology, and etc. In these fields, changes occur very slowly over a long period of time. So, it cannot make significant difference whether they work in their profession or not. SO, according to my view, colleges and universities should prudently decide that which courses require their faculties to work in their respective profession.

In conclusion, I believe that all colleges and universities should require their faculties to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. However, teachers should be allowed to work in the profession relevant to their course only for one or two month during academic breaks between two terms. Because, if these restriction are not implemented then there will be less faculties available to students thus affecting their academics.