To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement contends that one must study major cities of a country to understand the most important characteristics of a society. Some people believe that crucial cultural characteristics remain in the major cities of a country. Yet, they fail to account the importance of culture exists in village and small towns. Thus, one need to study not only its major city but also the villages and sub-urban areas in order to identify important characteristics of any society.

A one should not assume that a society can grow in major towns of a country. Members of any society live not only in large cities but they also found in small towns and villages. And studying only major cities the person cannot get whole picture of a society. It may be possible that members of a society lives in a major cities have different beliefs and life style even though they share a common root of a same society.

A society's important characteristics can be identified by studying its people, arts, music, dance, architectures, etc. And in major city, the people of a society may have shifted from its cultural identification. For instance, people lives in village still preserve their cultural identification through folk dance and music. Architectures of their houses still identifies their culture. On the other hand, in major cities people may have forgotten their arts and music that at one time their identification and move toward international arts and music.

In major cities, people belong to different societies lives in harmony, thus they may have influence over each other. It is a common practice of inter-cast marriages, trades between members different societies, thus consequently they have adopted each other's characteristics. Thus, by studying its major city, a person is able to identify cultural shift in their culture over a period of time.

In conclusion, characteristics of any society can be identified by studying its major cities and villages. Because, members of society lives in villages are more likely to maintain their typical characteristics, whether by studying major cities a person can get cultural shift in a society.