Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Should universities and college require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach? I agree with this recommendation to a large extent because faculty’s exposure to industries related to their fields of study can promote academic research and teaching. this recommendation, however, may not be applicable to instructors in all fields, so I cannot fully endorse the policy.

A professor’s research can benefit from non-academic work experience due to an awareness of industrial needs and, thus, those of society. By working on the topics that have the maximum societal values, professors can not only gain more recognition but also make greater contribution to society. For example, if a faculty member from the biology department has the opportunity to work at a pharmaceutical company, he or she will have a more comprehensive understanding of the medical industry’s current needs, perhaps reflecting the difficulties of battling certain diseases. Upon his or her return to the university, he or she can focus on pressing industrial demands and test more effective medicines to combat disease, thereby benefiting society. this line of reasoning also extends to other fields of applied science and thus scientific research would benefit by having professors work outside academia.

benefits from understanding industrial needs also extend to teaching, which better prepares the students for job market. When instructors are fully aware of industrial needs, their students benefit by being better informed and thoroughly understanding the prospects of a certain career. A computer science faculty member actively participating in non-academic, industrial activities will certainly understand industrial requirements and what programming qualities are desired in this rapid-changing field better than colleagues who never leave the ivory tower. he or she will be able to share his or her insights with students, helping them become productive members of the community and gaining advantages and competitiveness. In short, professors working in industry become effective channels to relay employer demands to potential employees, which benefits their students.

Despite all the benefits mentioned above, I feel the need to point out that it is not always advisable to require all faculty members to work outside of the academic world. The connection between industry and some academic fields, such as pure mathematics and theoretical cosmology, is relatively weak. In this case, it may be difficult for faculty to find an appropriate job and if they do, the social benefit would be nominal if there is little industrial interest in their research. The nature of such fields makes students unlikely to find jobs that perfectly match what they learn. For example, there is no mathematical company that tries to solve the Goldbach’s conjecture. it would therefore be unproductive in terms of time and resources to require faculty from those fields to work outside of academia.

In conclusion, research and teaching can benefit by requiring faculty members to work in the industrial world. On the other hand it may not be desirable or productive to compel faculty from disciplines with poor industrial connections to do so. thus I do not fully agree with the recommendation but call for a careful consideration of its applicability.