"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument. The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

In this letter, the author recommend that the local high school should sponsor a driving schools and that this solution is helpful to resolve the teenagers driving problems. even this program is not unhelpful to some extent, but there are several unsupported assumption renders the conclusion unreliable, the untenable assumption would mitigate the reliability of the author's recommendation.

To begin with, the author assume that the driving problems involved teenager in centerville are already so pressing that it requries immediate action. Based on this assumption, the author argue that teach the teenagers by formally driving instructions. however, this assumption is problematic due to the lack of exact number of traffic accidents involved teenager drivers. it is also vague to determine whether the teenager drivers should be responsibile for the accidents. In addition, we also do not know whether the teenager drivers are from centerville. if these accidents are not serious, and they are not caused by local teenager drivers, the authors' recommendation of establishing driving schools would be unpervasive.

Moreover, the author assumes that parents do not have time, nor do they afford the bill of driving courses. however, it is necessary to consider whether driving schools are the only solution to resolve the problem of teenager drivers. perhaps, those parents who complain they are busy may just take the exeuse to escape from the responsibility of teaching their children; perhaps those who are on tight budget may be just a minor proportion; perhaps the funding from local authority is also an alternative scheme. if any of the above possibiilty is true, other solution may overshadow the author's recommendation.

even the above assumptions are tenable, the author's recommendation is not necessary until the solution of driving schools proved to effective. The author may be too optimistic for the validity of this program. it is unreasonable to assume that all parents including those who are willing to teach their children driving to accept this mandatory programs. In addition, the author hashly conclude that the local high school should funding the program without elobrately consideration of their finance situation. In addition, it is also unpreditive to know whether the number of accidents can reduce after implementing this program. if this program causes overall complaints among parents or schools cannot afford the it, this program should be promoted, even if the decrease of accident numbers is unguranteed.

In conclusion, whether we can abopt the author's recommendation depends largely on the reliability of the author's underlying assumptions. if these assumptions are untenable, then this recommendation may be unwarranted and we should can consider alternative solution to resolve the teenager driving problems in centerville.