The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem.

In this argument, the author claims that all students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. There seems to be some validity at first glance, but we immediately found out several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incoming comments:

To begin with, the says that several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. However, we do not know how serious the accidents are. Were the people killed or severely injured? If the accidents were not serious, it is not worthwhile to run the education course to all the students. Thus, we need to know whether the accidents were all serious and have needs to blame the teenagers.

Furthermore, the author make an assumption that parents in Centerville cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. However, we need to know how exactly the number of the payments of driving schools, and how they perceive the needs to educate their children. If the parents consider it essential to offer their children the instruction. Maybe they will pay for the courses.

Finally, the author assume that the only solution to this serious problem is to sponsor an effective and mandatory program by the school. Nevertheless, there are several alternative solutions that need to be explored. For example, if the problem is due to the some specific behaviors such as speeding or drink, more rigorous law will be more powerful than the driving course.

To sum up, the author would have to provide more evidence in detail to make valid assumptions he provided. Without such evidence, we cannot jump to the conclusion that all students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. All in all, if the author provides more evidence and mends the mistakes, then the article will be more persuasive.