The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director assumes that there is an impending need for buckingham college to build new dormitories to allievate increasing need. The director's arugment based on serval assumption that the student's enrollment would follow the current trend to grow, the average rent for an apartment has been a burden for students, and attractive new dormitories would become an factor of students to choose buckingham. even the above points sounds reasonable at first glance, we should critically consider all aspects of these points to avoid hasty conclusion.

To begin with, the director asserted that buckingham's growing enrollment would continue to grow and that the number of enrollment would eventually double 50 years later. there is some true that the current promosing enrollment require college to provide more housing to students. however, the director ignored an alternative possibility that current growing enrollment is only temporary phenomen. if this is the case, the director cannot make a solid conclusion based on current trend. In order to fully analyze the enrollment trend, the director need to demonstrate current increasing trend is continuable, otherwise, the director's conclusion would be tenuous.

Secondly, the director also cited the fact that the average rent has risen in recent years and the rising cost has brought difficulties for students to affor off-campus housing. indeed, the risen average rent is indisputable fact. Nevertheless, the director did not rule out a possibility that there is some new built luxiory apartments near the campus and the expensive rent apartment increase the average rent cost while the majority of aprtments rent remain unchage or even decrease. Not until the director rule out this possibility, did the risen rent become the burdern for students. Besides, even most of the apartment rent has indeed risen, we also needs to know how much percent it has risen. if the rent only rised a little, then the risen rent would not put stress on student's living budget. To sum up, the director needs to rule there is not luxiury apartment to increase the average rent cost and provide definite details about how much the rent cost has risen to judge whether students can afford risen cost or not.

Finally, the director also claims that the attractive dormitories is an influencing factors for students to enroll at buckingham. indeed, the attractive dormitories can provide students with living convenience. however, there are several other factors which are much more important than living condition for students to determine which college is their optimal choice, such as academic achievement, career network and research funding. The director needs to explain why the dormintories would attract students to enroll at buckingham.

In conclusion, to fully evavulate whether the director makes a sound conclusion, the director needs to explain why the growing enrollment trend would continue, and the reason that the risen average rent has already beyond students' affordment, and why the attractive dormintories can attract students to enroll at buckingham.